OBGYNExaminer · Last verified 18 Oct 2026 · Updated 18 Oct 2026
Medical reviewer: Dr. Ali Ragab, MBBCH, MSc, MCAI
Arab Board Certificate in Obstetrics and Gynecology
The Arab Board Certificate in Obstetrics and Gynecology is a five-year specialty program with preliminary, final knowledge, and final practical examination stages. The 2026 schedule lists one 100-question, two-hour preliminary paper and two final knowledge papers of 100 questions and two hours each. The program guide outlines the syllabus but does not publish topic weights; the practical notice reviewed does not specify an assessment format.
At a glance: the specialty certificate
The Arab Board of Health Specializations lists Obstetrics and Gynecology as a five-year training program with preliminary, final knowledge, and final practical examination stages. Its English program guide sets out basic-science and clinical syllabus domains for the specialty.
This guide covers the general Obstetrics and Gynecology certificate pathway, not separate subspecialty qualifications.
Examination stages and published formats
The 2026 annual schedule reports the following written-paper structure. It gives question counts and durations, but does not identify the response type or language on the schedule page.
| Stage | Published structure | Preparation reference |
|---|---|---|
| Preliminary examination | One paper; 100 questions; two hours. | The program guide's Part 1 basic-science syllabus is a useful revision framework; the schedule does not map syllabus domains to individual papers. |
| Final knowledge examination | Two papers; each has 100 questions and lasts two hours. | Use the program guide's clinical syllabus domains to organize revision; it does not publish a paper-by-paper blueprint. |
| Final practical examination | A separate stage. The Amman notice sets application conditions but does not specify a station count, named assessment format, or scoring model. | Review the program competencies and follow the instructions for the particular sitting. |
Treat the paper details as the published 2026 schedule, not as permanent rules. Check the applicable official notice for sitting-specific instructions.
Official syllabus domains
The May 2022 program guide describes a syllabus, not percentage allocations or a numerical examination blueprint. Use its domains to plan broad coverage rather than assigning unsupported topic weights.
| Syllabus area | Domains described in the guide |
|---|---|
| Part 1 basic sciences | Anatomy, embryology, physiology, endocrinology, pathology, genetics, biochemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, immunology and hematology, biophysics, statistics, and epidemiology. |
| General obstetrics | Preconception, antenatal, intrapartum, and postpartum care; labor and delivery; pregnancy complications; and fetal assessment. |
| General gynecology | Reproductive physiology, adolescent gynecology, menstrual disorders, family planning, infections, pelvic pain and masses, pelvic support, incontinence, menopause, sexuality, and breast conditions. |
| General surgery | Perioperative care, common gynecologic procedures, laparoscopy, hysteroscopy, and operative complications. |
| Gynecologic oncology | Risk factors and screening, colposcopy, premalignant disease, gynecologic cancers, staging, referral, and treatment principles. |
| Reproductive endocrinology and infertility | Infertility evaluation, ovulatory disorders, treatment approaches, assisted reproductive technologies, pregnancy loss, and referral. |
| Maternal-fetal medicine and imaging | Pregnancy complications, fetal diagnosis, ultrasound, and other relevant imaging. |
| Program competencies | Communication, clinical information gathering, informed decisions, procedures, counseling, patient education, ethics, critical appraisal, and quality improvement. |
Training admission and practical-exam requirements
The program guide lists training-admission criteria; these should not be assumed to replace the requirements for a particular examination sitting. The listed criteria include:
- Familiarity with Arabic and fitness assessed by the training center.
- A general medicine degree from a university recognized by an Arab Board member country.
- One year of internship or rotation, according to the approved system in the relevant country.
- Registration as a trainee at an Arab Board-accredited center, and evidence of the right to practice in the training country under its regulations.
- An application with required documents through the announced procedure, directly or through the local authority as applicable, and payment of prescribed fees.
For the Amman practical-exam sitting described in the notice, applicants had to complete training successfully and pass the final knowledge examination. The notice also states a minimum four-month interval before a repeat attempt at the same practical examination, and lists required documents and fees. These are sitting-specific instructions; check the notice for the sitting and location relevant to you.
A study plan matched to the published assessment
- Organize revision around the official syllabus. Review Part 1 basic sciences and the clinical domains separately, then connect foundational mechanisms to clinical presentations and decisions. The guide does not provide topic weights.
- Rehearse the published written-paper timing. Practice question sets under a 100-question, 120-minute limit for the preliminary paper and for each final knowledge paper. Use the response format specified in the current sitting's instructions rather than assuming one from the annual schedule.
- Use a repeatable clinical-reasoning structure. For each syllabus topic, review focused history and examination, risks, differential diagnosis, investigations and interpretation, management options, escalation, consent, and follow-up.
- Prepare for the practical stage without assuming a station model. Rehearse communication, clinical assessment, interpretation, decision-making, procedural knowledge, counseling, and safe handover in line with the program competencies. The notice reviewed does not establish an OSCE, structured oral, or other specific format.
- Keep an error log. Group mistakes by knowledge gap, interpretation, prioritization, or time management, then revisit the relevant syllabus area and retest it in a new context.
- Check administration separately. Before applying, verify the current sitting's eligibility, documents, submission route, venue, and instructions in the relevant official notice.
Sitting, location, and curriculum considerations
The program guide is dated May 2022. The annual schedule and Scientific Council listing provide later examination information, while the Amman practical notice applies to a specific sitting. Consult the latest relevant notice for application instructions rather than treating one sitting's process as a standing rule.
The current Scientific Council listing includes practical-exam notices naming Amman, Cairo, Tripoli, and Aden. These are separate sitting announcements, not a guarantee that a location will be available for every candidate or future sitting. The Amman notice confirms Jordan as a host for the sitting it describes; confirm the location and arrangements in the notice that applies to you.
The program guide provides syllabus domains but no percentage weights. It also does not establish a practical-exam station blueprint.
How our curriculum can help
Find your next area of focus. Explore the question bank by subject, then dive into the topics you want to strengthen.
-
Advanced Ultrasound
-
Basic Sciences
-
Clinical Skills
-
Complex Family Planning
-
Critical Care
-
Emergency Care
-
Gynecologic Care
-
Gynecologic Oncology
-
High-Risk Obstetrics
-
Leadership and Governance
-
Minimally Invasive Surgery
-
Obstetric Care
-
Office Practice
-
Pediatric Gynecology
-
Pelvic Floor Medicine
-
Professional Practice
-
Reproductive Endocrinology
-
Reproductive Health
-
Structured oral examination (SOE)
-
Surgical Practice
Common questions
The 2026 schedule lists one preliminary paper with 100 questions in two hours, and two final knowledge papers with 100 questions and two hours for each paper. The schedule page does not identify the response type or language.
No percentage allocations appear in the program guide reviewed. It provides Part 1 basic-science and clinical syllabus domains, so use those domains for broad revision rather than relying on invented weights.
The Amman practical notice confirms a final practical examination but does not name an OSCE or another station format, or give a station count or scoring model. Check the instructions for the applicable sitting.
For the sitting described, the notice requires successful completion of training and a passed final knowledge examination. It also sets a four-month interval for candidates repeating the same practical examination and lists application documents and fees.
The guide lists Arabic familiarity, fitness assessed by the training center, an eligible general medicine degree, the required internship or rotation, registration at an Arab Board-accredited training center, and the right to practice in the training country. Application procedures and fees also apply; confirm current local requirements.
No. The current Scientific Council listing includes practical-exam notices naming Amman, Cairo, Tripoli, and Aden. Each notice concerns a particular sitting, so check the announcement relevant to your application.
Exam dates and registration
Sitting dates, application windows and fees change between cycles. Check the next sitting and registration deadlines on the official Arab Board of Health Specializations website.
Visit the official Arab Board of Health Specializations websiteOfficial sources
Use the official board or college website for current application windows, dates, fees, and definitive eligibility requirements.
Build your preparation plan
Explore relevant topics, practice clinical reasoning, and identify areas that need more study.